Is the Eiffel Tower worth hypothermia or separation?

Hysterical blindness or conversion hysterianoun. a condition that presents as an impairment in which severe physical symptoms like blindness appear with no apparent physical cause. The symptom(s) are not under voluntary control. Psychodynamic theory proposes that these symptoms develop in the presence of unconscious psychological conflict.”

This shot almost cost me a couple of fingers.

This shot almost cost me a couple of fingers.

Hysterical blindness or conversion hysteria – noun. a condition that presents as an impairment in which severe physical symptoms like blindness appear with no apparent physical cause. The symptom(s) are not under voluntary control. Psychodynamic theory proposes that these symptoms develop in the presence of unconscious psychological conflict.”

Our day continues…

After a long day wandering the streets of Paris which turned into the ultimate hunt for a restroom, we found ourselves stepping underground into a seemingly normal Metro station. What we entered instead, was more comparable to a subterranean city or elaborate circuit of Fraggle Rock tunnels, than an actual subway station. There were endless paths and all I remember was eventually coming across an underground mall-like plaza that connected to both the RER train and the Metro. We finally found our line and emerged a couple of blocks from the Eiffel Tower. A couple of bitterly… cold… blocks.

We were somewhere in here…

… or it could have been here

I am from the Mid-West and I have survived blizzards and ice storms and 30 below wind chills, but at the time, I would have been willing to bet a lot of money on the fact that I had never felt that frozen in my life. I accept that six years in California has made me a pansy when it comes to temperatures below 60°, but honestly… even an Alaskan would think it was cold. Guaranteed. Despite the arctic chill, we had the obligatory photo shoot under the beautifully lit Tower. Yes, I froze my hand off every time I took a picture, yes the wind burned my face, and yes no matter what angle one uses it is almost freaking impossible to get the entire structure in one frame (from a close distance), but still I persevered.

Finally satisfied with a couple of photos and a moment to again appreciate the twinkling “light show,” we raced back to Metro station on our way to the Latin Quarter for dinner. Well, ironically… (or coincidentally?) what almost happened a few days earlier on our way to Berkhamstedhappened. We came up the steps to find the subway already waiting, so without thinking, I rushed and hopped on before it could pull away, because… that’s what you do when a train is about to pull away right?!

Too late, I turned around to see the doors closing and realized Mom and Kenia were still standing on the platform, just reaching the top of the stairs.

Random Related aside – I should note, I am also the person that will rush to make a yellow light… forgetting that people are following me… and because they are behind me, will obviously get stuck at the red light I sped up to avoid… meaning all that I’ve accomplished is a bit of confusion and a situation where I will have to wait for them to catch up.

So yeah, that’s what happened. It’s like I lose all reasoning when faced with a close call. It’s similar to hysterical blindness, but with basic logic instead. Luckily, we had discussed our stop, since I was the navigator and the others were just following (without cell phones). I waited for the next train and watched as every single person in Paris trickled on… and off… but they were nowhere to be found. I waited some more, eyeballing every distant passerby for a familiar face. At long last (phew!) they emerged from the next train.

I still don’t know (or at least don’t remember) how they managed to miss another train, but I was too busy singing “Reunited and it feeeels so goood…..” to care.

2 responses to “Is the Eiffel Tower worth hypothermia or separation?

  1. First, anytime you’re singing a Peaches & Herb song, life is beautiful. Great pic of the Eiffel Tower. I’m glad your fingers are still intact as it would have made blogging about it a bit tricky. And yes, you’ve gotten way too soft about the cold. Come on, man! LOL

    • I should’ve known you would say something like that… being the music guru!

      And, yes, I will openly admit I’m a Californian pansy when it comes to weather. I can’t show my face back in the Midwest.

Comments!

