So the Chunnel isn’t a glass tube?!

“The [Chunnel] project: building a tunnel beneath the “great wet ditch” that Britons chauvinistically refer to as the English Channel and Frenchmen call La Manche (The Sleeve)”. – Time Magazine (1973)

Surprisingly not tired after only getting three hours of sleep the night earlier, we packed up and made our way to the St. Pancras station for our trip through the Chunnel. I had pondered over what it would be like to zip through a tunnel under a massive body of water. Unfortunately, my complete lack of sleep caught up with me and I was prevented from finding out. We were coasting away from London… above ground, and a couple of hours later when I woke up we were coasting towards Paris… back above ground. While I assumed (and have since confirmed) that we would only see a dark tunnel the entire way, I couldn’t help wishing it was like one of those SeaWorld shark adventures, a giant, clear tube allowing us to see the water all around us and fish swimming overhead. I assure you, if that was the case, I would’ve found a way to stay awake!

Seriously... imagine if this was clear!

Unlike last year, it didn’t take long for us to find our hotel in the Latin Quarter. Typical of Paris, the room was small, but nice enough. The surprise was the unexpectedly large bathroom. Bonus! (It’s the small things that make me happy.) Resisting the urge to take a nap, we set out to see the sights and come across a movie set on the street. This happened to us in Barcelona last year. What a random coincidence. I live in California, home of Hollywood, and I almost never (okay… NEVER) happen across a movie set. What’s going on?

After a moment watching a scene where the classic Parisian couple ate lunch outside at a classic Parisian café, we settled for the same experience. We three classic Americans squeezed into a table near the back and ordered the “Best Quiché Ever.” I don’t know why I used quotes, because that wasn’t the name of the quiche… but it probably should be. It had an appropriately flaky croissant-like crust instead of the thicker pie-crust I’m familiar with.

A successful arrival in Paris.

2 responses to “So the Chunnel isn’t a glass tube?!

Comments!

