On Hiatus Again…

“To my mind, the greatest reward and luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.” – Bill Bryson

It’s that time again. Time for me to escape my cubicle for a while in favor of trains, cobblestones streets, history and the open air. It’s time for me to leave for Europe again!

A year ago in April, I made my first venture abroad… and have had the travel bug ever since. I’m constantly reading travel blogs, books about travel, and internally planning all the next places I’m going to go. Suffice to say, I only made it a few months before deciding I had to go to Europe again within the year. My goal to travel both internationally and to a new domestic US city each year.

So, here I am. Leaving Southern California and its pleasant weather in March on my way to Ireland & England with its cold and rain. I take off on Wednesday morning back to Europe. I will be traveling with my friend Kenia and my mom. My mom has never traveled outside the US (except Mexico) and there’s really no good reason for that. When I told her she should join me, she just said, “That would be great.” and laughed like it wasn’t realistic. When I seriously asked, “Why not?” She really didn’t have a reason…laughed… and said, “Yes, why not!” I’m just as excited to share the experiences with her as I am to be traveling again. Being a blend of English, Irish, French, & German she’s pleased to be visiting the places of her blended heritage.

My travel partners will be with me for the first 10-days, and when they leave…. I will be taking my first ventures into solo-traveling. It seems everyone I’ve met that’s traveled on their own, simply loves it. I’m really looking forward to it… except for maybe the eating alone part. But when you have the company of a good book, are you ever really alone?

Places on my itinerary:

  • Ireland – Dublin & Kilkenny
  • England – London & Yorkshire (with my lovely friend Becca!)
  • and… Paris, Amsterdam, Berlin, & Prague.

I’m keeping a travel journal again and will update my blog during my travels. Let the final countdown begin!

P.S. If anybody knows of a good day trip from Prague, I would love the recommendation.

2 responses to “On Hiatus Again…

Comments!

