My new favorite masterpiece…

“Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is felt rather than seen.” ~Leonardo da Vinci

I have just come across my new favorite masterpiece. I discovered the photo below on the Venice Daily Photo blog and was speechless. It is absolutely breathtaking. This painting, found in the San Pantalon church in Venice, by Italian baroque painter, Giovanni Antonio Fumiani took 23 years to complete. The three-dimensional painting, making the ceiling look so much higher, catches and keeps my attention; the faux-ceiling painted on the real ceiling is brilliant. I could stare at this painting for ages, exploring all the scenes and images. I’m a bit more familiar with the Renaissance period, but I now think I should start exploring more Baroque masterpieces!

Wow. Just wow. I only wish I knew about this painting during my trip to Venice last April. *sigh*

Martyrdom & Apothesis of San Pantalon

2 responses to “My new favorite masterpiece…

Comments!

