New Year’s Eve…again

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in. A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.”- Bill Vaughn

It’s that time again. New Year’s Eve. Time to reflect on the joys or dramas of the prior year. Time to make a fresh start. Time to make resolutions you probably won’t keep.

Maybe it’s my old age… but New Year’s Eve never gets me excited anymore. The last few years, I’ve finally stopped trying to live up to the stellar expectations it comes with. You know… the great outfit, the big party, the big event at such and such club downtown, all the fun things that are going to happen… supposedly.

But I’m jaded. I’m tired of dressing up. Tired of driving the whole city looking for parking. Tired of standing in line for ages (whether on “the list” or not). Tired of paying a ridiculously inflated cover charge and then, never end up getting a drink because of the hoards of people at the bar. Tired of going home disappointed that yet again, the night didn’t live up to it’s hype (even though had it been a “normal” night, I would probably have considered it a fine time!)

These past few years, I have finally have started doing the house party thing with friends, which has always been so much more fun! Last year, I actually cancelled those plans two hours before the party started in favor of home with the kids. I changed into PJ pants, bought some champagne (and sparkling cider) we had a dance party and Guitar Hero tournament, and I swear, it was my favorite New Year’s yet.

So this year I have the same plan…slightly tweaked. Me and a few girlfriends (and the guys) are all getting together at Gabriella’s house, she’s cooking us one of her delicious Sicilian dishes, we are going to drink wine and champagne all night, maybe watch movies, gossip, chat, tell jokes, probably dance, and toast to the new year. The kids will all play together, the guys will surely be found playing poker in some other room at some point…and it will all be much more fun than anything going on downtown, or in La Jolla, I’m certain. I’m also certain, this means I’m officially “old” right. I knew it was bound to happen eventually. I guess 27 is the golden year. Or maybe the golden year was last year when I cancelled all plans in favor of PJs. Hmmm…

At any rate, I hope everyone has a very safe and happy New Year!!!

*Cheers!*

2 responses to “New Year’s Eve…again

  1. Great post, Dish. I too gave up the New Year’s club thing a few years ago. We usually have a house party or, on a couple of occasions, have just had a quiet evening at home. And no, you’re not old. You’re just smart. Happy New Year’s to you!

  2. I agree with Jesse…not old, just smart! (from someone who is old and smart! lol) Not only that, but safer to party at home or a friend’s house and since more fun anyway…a win win!!!! Have fun and Happy New Year!!!!!!!!

Comments!

