thanksgiving, couchsurfing, and the horrible conversion rate

“We have a vision of a world where everyone can explore and create meaningful connections with the people and places they encounter.” – couchsurfing.org

Happy almost Thanksgiving everyone! Time flies and I have suddenly found myself in the middle of the holiday season again. What have I been doing for a year?! It seems like just yesterday I was digging up my once a year Creamed Corn and Parmesan Potatoes recipes and now I’m doing it again. Another Thanksgiving with the family… overeating… reminiscing over funny family moments… shaking my head in awe at all the people looking forward to the maniacal “Black Friday” (it’s called Black Friday for a reason… it’s clearly comparable to the plague in all things horrible that should be avoided). The short work week is fun though.

This weekend, after the holiday, I am participating for the first time in the giant CouchSurfing community. I joined the site a couple of months ago in preparation for eventually trying it out. This next trip I take will be my first venture into solo-traveling, but next I want to try couchsurfing, in which one stays with a local in any given city worldwide. The host provides a place to crash and usually will take you out and show you their home city. It’s a give-and-take kind of community, expecting that you will also “host” fellow couchsurfers in your own town. Well, I am going to be a host this weekend for a nice girl from Japan. What a great way to meet new people, new travelers, and eventually get to enjoy the benefits abroad when I’m ready. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Speaking of travel, I’ve started booking some of the hopper flights and other random things for my trip next spring. I almost want to cry at the conversion rate which has hovered around 1.47’ish and will probably rise between now and March. The British Pound is, of course, even worse than the Euro. What was I thinking choosing the MOST expensive country I could find outside Scandinavia? Oh yeah, I love Europe… it and its criminal conversion rate. 😦 Mr. Dollar, I beg you to rise. I can’t stand paying an extra 50% for everything for long.

2 responses to “thanksgiving, couchsurfing, and the horrible conversion rate

  1. You live such a fun life! Seriously, when I read your blog, I just think you are so lucky to do the things you do!

  2. Awww, thank you! I used to put things off forever, and now I just really like to experience some of the little things that make me happy…often times when I can’t travel, those little things are concerts, shows, or events.

Comments!

