Books

“When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes.” – Desiderius Erasmus Roterodamus

20090316-Photo01

This picture makes me happy

I love books. Love em, love em, love em. I never go anywhere without a book handy…just in case I get a couple minutes to read.

There are many random reasons I have a love affair with books:

*I get wrapped up learning about people, places, and what life was like in fill in the year, fill in the country.

*Reading has made me a more patient person, not in the sense where I can call it a virtue of mine, but in the sense that when I’m waiting, I break out my book rather than note the time slowly passing by.

*I love browsing for books online and adding them to my ever-growing list of books to be read. Mount TBR. Lucky for me, I have recently discovered a site where I can swap my books; paperbackswap.com. This is allowing me to slowly purge my old murder mysteries and chick-lit books in favor for the books I really want to add to my personal library. Classics, historical fiction, travel memoirs, and non-fiction. The library has helped me with my book buying addiction too!

*My favorite piece of furniture is a bookcase.

*I look forward to the couple minutes after finishing a book, where I get to decide which book to read next.

*I could sit in a bookstore for ages; especially used book stores. You can tell a lot about a book by its smell, whether its the new, clean smell or old, dusty smell. I like old books that have a story to tell. No pun intended. 😉

*I look forward to starting series since I can really get to know the characters and follow them along multiple journeys.

*I have accepted I will never be able to make a significant dent in my to-be-read pile, because for every book I read, I discover at least one additional book I would like to read.

So many books…so little time.

3 responses to “Books

  1. Books are absolutely wonderful. There’s nothing quite like turning the last page of a good book.

  2. I hear ya, Tish. Nothing like a good book to enjoy/destress/take u away, etc, etc! Thank you for bringing me back to the desire/the pleasure/the mental vacation! Love you! Mom

  3. Pingback: books » Blog Archive » Books « Dish on Hiatus…·

Comments!

