Shall I Compare Thee to a Summers Day?

I couldn’t resist the title. While I do not share the Shakespearean passion that my good friend in New Mexico does… I can break out a little Shakespeare once in a while. (Just don’t ask me how the rest of that sonnet goes.) I am slowly sprinkling in the tragedies and comedies of the Bard between my other million books to be read. So far I’ve knocked out Othello, Romeo & Juliet, King Lear, and Macbeth. I’m slowly, but surely, getting there.

So…my post actually as nothing to do with Shakespeare; the rambling above is simply a prime example of my short attention span and tendency to digress. My purpose, was to share my excitement for the upcoming summer season! I know my Midwestern friends will be the first to say it is summer year round in San Diego, but that’s not completely true.  They’ve clearly never been here for June Gloom. There are so many reasons I look forward to the summer season, despite our year round sun and flip-flop wearing. For one, the attitudes of summer are completely different.

3366836075_47c9dd19be

Everyone wants to be outside more. The city feels more social and awake. Partly, because beach season has arrived! Even without the beach, there is bike riding, hiking, and good ol’ strolling. All of this happens more in the summer.

The nights are longer. I love sitting outside with a cocktail and friends, whether it’s on a balcony at the house or an outdoor patio at a bar or restaurant.

I feel more creative in the summer. Now, I have no true creative talent of my own… but I get ‘inspired’ more and I appreciate more.

Reading at the beach! I love to read year round, but reading outside in the warm weather, with the waves crashing in the background, is my favorite way to enjoy a book.

Summer music. This is the time to really break out the Jack Johnson tracks and the classic oldies. When do you have a better excuse to listen to the Go Go’s, Beach Boys, or the Grease soundtrack?! Actually, what other season WOULD you? (although I must disclose that the Grease soundtrack is a legitimate guilty pleasure of mine)

BBQs! Even though we have year round sun, it is only really in the summer months that we have big, group BBQs. Partly because with summer comes the BBQ friendly holidays (Memorial Day, 4th of July) but also because of the mental habit. Volleyball tournaments, horseshoes, picnic food…I love it all.

Sunday brunch; this is another phenomenon that seems to take place more in the summer. After waking up late from a fun evening out, what better way to enjoy the weekend than getting with friends, heading to the water, ordering mimosas, and just relaxing? It’s hard to care that you aren’t getting your laundry done in the summer, when you are that relaxed.

Ahhh…summer days.

One response to “Shall I Compare Thee to a Summers Day?

  1. Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
    Thou are more lovely and temperant,
    rough winds do shake the darling buds of May…

    Bahahah! That’s all I remember off the top of my head. I played Cordelia in King Lear, which is one of my favorites, but I’d rather be shot in the foot than EVER suffer through Romeo and Juliet. It may be one of his saddest plays, but I don’t think it’s what Shakespeare meant by tragedy.

    You DO TO have creative talent. EVERYONE has creative talent, just in different ways.

    Thank you (not really) for getting the damned Grease soundtrack in my head.

    BBQs rock. Period.

    And while I like to say I like summer, living here in AZ – – not so much. It’s kinda like winter, we just try and stay indoors as much as we can, only instead of heat, we have the air on. As a redhead with fair skin, I fry just by looking out the window.

    Love,

    M.

Comments!

