Friday Night…Eiffel Tower

“Every city has a sex and an age which have nothing to do with demography. Rome is feminine. So is Odessa. London is a teenager, an urchin, and, in this, hasn’t changed since the time of Dickens. Paris, I believe, is a man in his twenties in love with an older woman.” – John Berger

You know what this is...

After a moments rest in the hotel to recover from the long day in Versailles…we head to the grocery store up the street to get our picnic supplies; wine, cheese, salami, and a baguette. Back on the Metro on our way to the Eiffel Tower. Everyone has seen it so I don’t need to tell you how beautiful it is… but I will, it’s beautiful. I took about a million different pictures, playing with the features of my camera. Thank goodness for the 8GB memory card I have!

The wine sets in, the conversation is fun, and the setting…well, its perfect. We are eating a very late dinner; 10pm. The park at the Tower is pleasant and quiet. There are a few others enjoying wine, a group of teenagers taking a million photos, and couple soldiers strolling by…I feel so safe! So far this is another favorite moment.

Back to the Metro, we head to a bar. The neighborhood, St. Germaine, was clearly the place to be! People were spilling into the streets at all the pubs and cafés… everyone is having great time. It is a bit like the Gaslamp District in San Diego; the whole area was filled with people, pubs, and cafés. We find our bar and drink too much. When the bar closes at 2am, we meet a couple Americans living in Paris and join them. Strolling the streets together, we next run into a group of Parisians who lead us all to one of the seemingly many after-party spots. This bar was a blast! More drinks with our new companions and we continued our night. Too summarize…I drank way too much but had a grand ‘ol time. Tonight (Saturday) we are going to grab a nice dinner and go out again. We are thinking Pigalle, but a couple of the girls from last night gave me their number and wanted us to possibly meet up with them later. It’s fun having options. Parisians aren’t rude at all in my experience so far, with the exception of the vendor at the Metro stop that wouldn’t give us change!

I love Paris!

5 responses to “Friday Night…Eiffel Tower

  1. Are you kidding me this is the best reading ever! I was just sitting around on a saturday night while it is blizzarding outside! yes blizzard in April and thought of you and decided to read up on what’s going on…I’m ready to hear more! I can’t wait to see the pictures so hurry up and figure that part out!

    lots of love…this is such a dream come true I’m so happy for you and love hearing and reading all about it!

  2. Glad to hear (to red rather) that the hotel we picked up together for you is working out so well!

    Isn’t Paris night life so fascinating because so unexpected and turning wonderful anyway?

    Personally, I think that’s a big difference between American culture and French culture. In we USA, we plan our social gatherings. In France, no planning necessary. They just happened right on the spot.

    May be you don’t see that as you just arrived with no precise plans about what to do. But watch people arround you: they casually meet somewhere and then decide, as a group.

    Will you have time to go to my friend restaurant?

  3. I frikkin miss your face, Tisha!!
    But, I’m glad you’re having a good time.
    Somehow, {but to no shock} I misplaced your personal email address…
    Can you send it to me?
    Thanks. Love you!!

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Moments in Europe! « Distant Hiatus: Travel Chronicles·

Comments!

