A Classic Agenda

“A classic is something that everybody wants to have read and nobody wants to read.” –  Mark Twain

I am starting my own personal mini-challenge to read at least 7 classics next year.

I adore reading and would read 24/7 if I could. (okay, maybe 22/7 to be realistic 🙂 ) As much as I love reading, I must admit that I haven’t read alot of the “classics.” The novels that survive the test of time. The books that remain bestsellers for generation after generation. The literary favorites.

So in an attempt to correct what I consider an inferiority in the literary world,  I am ensuring (with the help of my beloved bookclub) that I fit more classics into my reading agenda. At my standard reading rate, to read 7 classics in one year… that’s about 1 classic for every 4 or 5 other books. I think that’s realistic…only 20% of my reading. I am going to introduce myself to the admired and recognized authors of the past; hello Steinbeck, pleased to meet you Dostoevsky, what’s up Orwell, let’s do lunch Ms. Austen.

The books I have in mind to tackle:

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • Pride & Prejudice (yep…shocker; I’ve never read it!) by Jane Austen
  • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain – (I’ve only read Huckleberry Finn.)

I hope to enjoy them all and move on to more. Let’s hope I don’t get ultra-distracted with the thousands of other books on my list.

One response to “A Classic Agenda

  1. Depending on how East of Eden and War & Peace go next month I could definitely be into reading Grapes of Wrath and Anna Karenina with you next year. Steinbeck continues to blow me away every time I pick up one of his books and I don’t see that changing any time soon.

Comments!

